Lunar Phases

Lunar Cycles

There are four principal lunar phases: the new moon, first quarter, full moon, and last quarter (also known as third or final quarter), when the Moon’s ecliptic longitude is at an angle to the Sun (as viewed from Earth) of 0°, 90°, 180°, and 270°, respectively.

Each of these phases appears at slightly different times at different locations on Earth.


moon phases

A beginner's guide to understanding moon cycles

What are the different phases of the moon and how do they correlate with ritual and manifestation?

The lunar cycle can be split into two parts; waxing and waning. Within each part are four phases.

Aligning with the phases of the Moon

Since the beginning of time, humans have been tracking the Moon, observing its changes, and noticing our undeniable connection with its monthly ebbs and flows. Emotions, our sleep, our menstruation, and our love life have all been linked to the Moon. Why? And how does this happen?

If we’re accepting that the Moon does indeed affect our sleep, our mood, and our emotions, how can we work with this mystical force? How can we sync up with these cycles and align with the flow of nature instead of being a victim of it?

Well, let’s chat about each Moon phase, how it can affect us, and how we can make the most of every phase!